GCAA MakerFaire and Middle School Awards

Tuesday evening, GCAA hosted its MakerFaire. The MakerFaire gives students who take part in MakerSpace classes the opportunity to sell what they have been working on. Everything from jewelry to slime to bowls and stickers were on sale. 


Later on in the evening, Ms. Nobbe, Ms. Schuhwerk and Ms. Born handed out various awards. Ms. Nobbe recognized the high flyers, students who showed great promise and had worked extraordinarily hard, and the Duke TIP students. Duke University Talent Identification Program is a nonprofit organization dedicated to serving academically gifted and talented students. 7th graders that were a part of the program took the ACT or SAT. Maddie Eisenbraun, Ilisa Zimmerman, Amelia Gray, Kenny Aubuchon, Matt Ernst, Jacob Stern and Gavin John all participated in the program. Ilisa, Amelia, Kenny, Matt, Jacob and Gavin qualified for state recognition and a silver medal by scoring at or above the national average of recent high school graduates. Jacob and Gavin also qualified for grand or gold medal recognition for scoring at or better than 90 percent of recent high school graduates. Gavin gets special recognition for scoring a perfect 800 on the math section of the SAT. The high fliers were students who, on May 1, had A’s in their four academic courses These students are: Savannah Brockus, Rachel Crivello, Emma Deaton, Emily DeChambeau, Madison Eisenbraun, Matthew Ernst, Gavin John, Esme Marshall, Finn McNamee, Joseph Miller, Ava Moorheim, Paul Notaro, Simon O’Connell, Jacob Stern, Kavi Stevick, Zhara Stevick, and Claire Winright.


Ms. Born and Ms. Schuhwerk announced the other awards. Joseph Miller won an award for having perfect attendance. Emily DeChambeau and Ava Moorhem won Excellence in arts awards. Finally, the MakerSpace Merit students were announced. These were students that earned a 95% or better in the MakerSpace class. The Merit students were: Riannah Bauder, Alia Britt, Aariyanna Brown, Danica Buckley, Josiah Burton, Y’lana Clower, Paris Dancy, Emma Deaton, Emily DeChambeau, Isabella Deford, Ayden Demeester, Garrison Dill, Ella Dyer, Griffin Dyer, Matthew Ernst, Alexia Estes, Sophia Garthe, Ameila Gray, Nola Kelley, Myonnie Mcginnist, Ava Moorhem, Paul Notaro, Simon O’Connell, Jessica Price, Morgan Rega,  Michael Robinson, Hannah Rohlfing, Olivia Samaniego, Colin Schuessler, Kylie Shearer, Briala Smith, Moses Stern, Kavitha Stevick, Zahra Stevick, Helen Tate, Riley Wild, and Jermiah Williams.

Congratulations to all!